How to become a better developer

All things related to software development and programming languages.
Ben
Firstname: Rupert

How to become a better developer

Postby Ben » Thu Sep 29, 2016 8:15 pm

5 tips I wish I had been told when I started programming
- By Ben

It may not be said often but the odds are you all suck at programming. And that's fine, because I'm not much better. A couple of guys at google did an excellent talk a few years ago on the "genius programmer" that I suggest you all go watch:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0SARbwvhupQ

And in light of that I'd like to talk about how you can improve as a developer.

Admit that you're not brilliant

It might sound silly but time and time again I've come across programmers in all spheres who think they're the next John Carmack. This thinking is absolutely toxic because when you think you're right all the time you very rarely listen to the opinion of others. The very existence of a lone working programmer does not exist anymore. You will have to work in teams. So the first step to becoming better is to admit that you're not.

Learn more than one language

Surprisingly as the term full stack developer has been tossed around more and more I've seen a lot of young developers close themselves off to one language. This was particularly apparent to me during the initial planning phases of ie earlier this year when I saw many groups decide to work in java because they did not want to learn a new language.

I'll talk about the benefits of learning multiple languages in a moment but I thought this should first be stressed. Most developers will not be able to get a job unless they are able to be language agnostic. You will most probably be asked quite often by your boss to learn a new language.